ANNUAL COUNCIL

MINUTES of the Meeting held in the Council Chamber, Swale House, East Street, Sittingbourne, Kent, ME10 3HT on Wednesday, 22 May 2019 from 7.00pm - 7.43pm.

PRESENT: Councillors Mike Baldock, Cameron Beart, Monique Bonney, Lloyd Bowen. Mayor). Simon Clark, Derek Carnell, Roger Clark (Deputy Steve Davey, Richard Darby, Mike Dendor. Simon Fowle. Tim Gibson. Alastair Gould. Nicholas Hampshire. James Hall. Ann Hampshire. Harrison. Alan Horton, James Hunt, Ken Ingleton (Mayor), Carole Jackson, Elliott Jayes, Denise Knights, Peter Macdonald, Peter Marchington, Ben A Martin, Ben J Martin, Pete Neal, Lee McCall, Padmini Nissanga, Richard Palmer. Hannah Perkin, Ken Puah. Ken Rowles. Julian Saunders. David Simmons. Paul Stephen. Sarah Stephen, Eddie Thomas, Ghlin Whelan, Bill Tatton, Roger Truelove, Mike Whiting, Tony Winckless and Corrie Woodford.

OFFICERS PRESENT: Billy Attaway, David Clifford, Estelle Culligan, Philippa Davies, Nick Vickers and Emma Wiggins.

APOLOGIES: Councillors Mark Ellen and Tim Valentine.

10 PRAYERS

The Mayor's Chaplain said Prayers.

Councillor David Simmons spoke in memory of Sir Roger Moate, former Faversham MP, who had recently died. He remembered the contribution that Sir Roger Moate had made to both the residents of Faversham and Swale as a whole.

11 EMERGENCY EVACUATION PROCEDURE

The Mayor outlined the emergency evacuation procedure.

12 MINUTES

The Minutes of the Meeting held on 3 April 2019 (Minute Nos. 586 - 593) were taken as read, approved and signed by the Mayor as a correct record.

13 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

No interests were declared.

14 APPOINTMENT OF COUNCIL LEADER

Councillor Mike Baldock proposed, and Councillor Ben J Martin seconded, that Councillor Roger Truelove be elected as Leader.

This was put to the vote and agreed.

Annual Council 22 May 2019

The Leader explained the new arrangements, in that there would be a five-way coalition administration. He outlined the Cabinet membership and the terms of reference of the new portfolios. The Leader announced that there would be a constitutional review, with the intention of returning to a committee-based system of decision making. He explained that the Policy Development and Review Committee would have a role in that process, and that the Scrutiny Committee would be chaired by the opposition group. The Leader added that there would no longer be a Leader's statement at Full Council, but instead a verbal statement from the Leader, with a response from the Leader of the Opposition.

The Leader of the Opposition responded and congratulated new and existing Members, the coalition and the Group Leaders. He acknowledged the changes, and the potential for unsettled times for members of staff during the transition period. The Leader of the Opposition welcomed the opportunity for his party to chair the Scrutiny Committee.

The Leader proposed and the Deputy Leader seconded the recommendations in the report.

Resolved:

- (1) That Councillor Roger Truelove be elected as Leader of the Council until May 2023.
- (2) That Council notes the Cabinet membership and the terms of reference for the portfolios as set out below, and that the scheme of delegation in part 3 of the constitution, in respect of Executive functions, be amended accordingly.

Cabinet

- Leader and Finance Cllr Roger Truelove
- Deputy Leader, Planning Cllr Mike Baldock
- Housing Cllr Ben J Martin
- Health and Wellbeing Cllr Harrison
- Community Cllr Richard Palmer
- Environment Cllr Tim Valentine
- Economy and Property Cllr Monique Bonney

Deputy Cabinet Members

- Finance Cllr Derek Carnell
- Planning Cllr Alastair Gould
- Housing Cllr Ghlin Whelan
- Health Cllr Hannah Perkin
- Community Cllr Julian Saunders
- Environment Cllr Eddie Thomas
- Economy and Property Cllr Sarah Stephen
- (3) That Council notes that there have been no further changes to the scheme of delegation as set out in the constitution.

Annual Council 22 May 2019

15 ESTABLISHMENT OF COMMITTEES AND THEIR TERMS OF REFERENCE

The Leader introduced the report which asked the Council to establish the Committees of the Council for the municipal year 2019/20 and to agree their terms of reference.

The Leader proposed and the Deputy Leader seconded the recommendation.

Resolved:

(1) That the Committees of the Council and Terms of Reference, as set out in Appendix I to the report, be agreed for the 2019/20 municipal year.

16 ALLOCATION OF COMMITTEE SEATS AND COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS FOR 2019/20

The Leader introduced the report and proposed the recommendations which were seconded by the Deputy Leader.

The Leader provided an update on the membership of the Swale Joint Transportation Board, the Member Development Working Group, and the Vice-Chairman of the Local Plan Panel. These changes are reflected in the Appendix to the Minutes.

A vote was carried out in respect of the Chairman of the General Licensing Committee and the Licensing Act 2003 Committee as there were two nominations for each. The vote was taken, in favour of Councillor Derek Carnell.

Post Meeting Note: Cllr Paul Stephen is sitting on Planning Committee in place of Cllr Sarah Stephen, and membership of the Scrutiny Committee is to be confirmed.

Resolved:

- (1) That the political balance calculation be agreed.
- (2) That the allocation of seats to Committees, in accordance with the wishes of Group Leaders, as set out in Appendix I to these minutes, be agreed. And that the Leader's appointments to the Cabinet and their portfolios be noted.
- (3) That the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Committees as set out in Appendix II to these minutes be agreed.

17 BOROUGH COUNCIL REPRESENTATION ON OUTSIDE BODIES, TRUSTS ADMINISTERED BY SWALE BOROUGH COUNCIL AND STATUTORY BODIES

The Leader introduced the report which set out the nominations received from all Groups. He proposed the recommendations which were seconded by the Deputy Leader.

The Principal Solicitor (Contentious and Corporate Governance) explained the voting procedure in respect of those outside bodies that had more nominations than seats, as below:

Annual Council 22 May 2019

- Action with Communities in Rural Kent;
- Bensted's Charity, Faversham;
- Charity of Sir William Stede;
- Citizens Advice Service, Swale;
- Council for Voluntary Services;
- Kent Downs AONB Joint Advisory Committee;
- Lower Medway Internal Drainage Board;
- Sheppey Matters;
- United Charities of Milton Regis; and
- West Faversham Community Association.

The Leader proposed and the Deputy Leader seconded the recommendation in the report.

Upon being put to the vote, the Monitoring Officer announced the results. The complete list of outside body appointments are attached as an Appendix to these Minutes.

Resolved:

(1) That the Borough Council representation on outside bodies, trusts administered by Swale Borough Council and statutory bodies be as set out in Appendix III to these minutes.

18 CONFIRMATION OF TIMETABLE OF MEETINGS 2019/20

The Leader referred to the timetable of meetings, which had previously been agreed by the Council on 20 February 2019.

Resolved:

(1) That the timetable of meetings for the 2019/20 municipal year be noted.

Chairman

Copies of this document are available on the Council website http://www.swale.gov.uk/dso/. If you would like hard copies or alternative versions (i.e. large print, audio, different language) we will do our best to accommodate your request please contact Swale Borough Council at Swale House, East Street, Sittingbourne, Kent, ME10 3HT or telephone the Customer Service Centre 01795 417850.

All Minutes are draft until agreed at the next meeting of the Committee/Panel